Here is the list of the Egyptian Dynasties and their Pharaohs (the dates vary from source to source, I am using the list as can be found in N. Grimmal’s A History of Ancient Egypt. The dates and the short descriptions from M. Rice Who’s Who in Ancient Egypt):

2200 – 2040 B.C. – The First Intermediate Period

2200 – 2160 B.C.     Dynasties VII and VIII

Many short-lived kings including Qakare, Iby and Khuy.

2160 – 2040 B.C.    Dynasties IX and X (Herakleopolis)

2160 – 2050 B.C. Meribre Khety I was the ruler of the nome whose capital was at Asiut. During his reign, he cleared and improved the canals and extended the area of cultivable land. He was also a formidable warrior and supported the Herakleopolitan kings. When he died he was mourned by his people and by the king.

2130 B.C. Neferkare ruled over much of the north towards the end of the tenth dynasty, a time full of turmoil. He might have ruled over some part of the south.

2160 – 2130 B.C. Nebkaure (?) Khety II was the fourth ruler of the Herakleopolitan line. He is chiefly remembered because of a story which tells of how he dispensed justice to a peasant who was cheated by a rich landowner, a text which was later used as a school exercise.

2075 B.C. Wahkare Khety III was a king who ruled for a relatively long time in a period of unease and discontent in Egypt. He might have dealt with Asiatic people who were already infiltrating the Delta (thought to have been evidence to Jacob and his family arriving to Egypt from Canaan). He is credited to being the author of the ‘Instructions’, a book that he wrote to his son and successor Merikare to help him become a leader, now considered one of the most celebrated works of this period.

2160 – 2125 B.C. Merikare was the son of Khety III and one of the most successful kings of the tenth dynasty. Egypt seems to have enjoyed considerable prosperity during his reign and is remembered chiefly through the book ‘Instruction’ that was supposedly written for him by his father.

2160 – 2040 B.C.     Dynasty XI (Thebes)

2130 B.C. Mentuhotepe I was the son of Inyotef, the nomarch of the Theban region. He is regarded as the ancestor of the eleventh dynasty and proclaimed himself the king of all Egypt, though the rival Heraklepolite kings were still ruling.

2125 – 2112 B.C.Scherutowy Inyotef I is considered as the founding father of the eleventh dynasty, and he proclaimed himself king of Upper and Lower Egypt, opposing the Heraklepolitan king Ankhtify. Inyotef then defeated Ankhtify and established his power over most of the south.

2118 – 2069 B.C.  Wahankh Inyotef II continued his family’s strive to bring all of Egypt under their power. He was buried in Western Thebes, which would later become the centre of Egypt’s religion cults from the Middle Kingdom onwards.

2069 – 2061 B.C. Nakhtnebtepnefer Inyotef III succeeded his father Inyotef II and established his family’s power over most of Upper Egypt.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: